Novel Coronavirus – Travel Restrictions to Australia

What are the restrictions?

The Australian Government announced on 5 March 2020 that travel restrictions will be introduced for travellers arriving from the Republic of Korea and maintained for travellers arriving from any part of mainland China or Iran.

  • The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade has raised its travel advisories for the following countries:
    • China – do not travel
    • Iran – do not travel
    • Daegu, Republic of Korea – do not travel
  • Foreign nationals (excluding permanent residents of Australia) who have been in the following countries will not be allowed to enter Australia for 14 days from the time they have left or transited through:
    • mainland China
    • Iran
    • Republic of Korea.
  • Australian citizens and permanent residents will still be able to enter, as will their immediate family members (spouses, legal guardians or dependants only). They will be required to self-isolate at home for 14 days from the day they left China, Iran or the Republic of Korea.

In addition, travellers from Italy will be subject to enhanced border screening processes.

  • Australia will deny entry to anyone who has left or transited a country subject to travel restrictions within the previous 14 days, with the exception of:
    • Australian citizens
    • permanent residents
    • New Zealand citizens resident in Australia
    • immediate family members of Australian citizens and permanent residents including spouses, minor dependants and legal guardians
    • diplomats.
  • Limited exemptions also exist for airline and maritime crew, where they have taken appropriate precautionary measures.
  • These enhanced public safety measures will apply to those seeking to enter Australia as well as those seeking to transit through Australia en route to another country.
  • These measures are temporary and will be reviewed.

What if I am a temporary visa holder?

  • Temporary visa holders who are ineligible for entry into Australia and are not exempt under one of the above categories will have their visa considered for cancellation if they attempt to travel to Australia.
  • Year 11 and 12 students who remain in China due to Australian travel restrictions (apart from those from Hubei Province) have been offered a strict pathway to resume their studies in recognition of the importance of the final two years of school. The exemptions will be considered on case by case basis.


Source: Department of Home Affairs