New Rules for Accountant Skills Assessments start 1 July 2015

AnnouncementCPA, ICAA and IPA will change the assessment criteria Migration Skills Assessments starting 1 July 2015.

Skills Assessments are required for a number of temporary and permanent visas under Australia’s immigration program.  The changes will be implemented on 1 July 2015.

What is changing?

The core competency areas for occupations assessed by CPA, ICAA or IPA have been consolidated from 12 to 9 topic areas.  The compulsory core competency areas have also been updated.

CPA, ICAA and IPA are responsible for assessing suitability for migration to Australia for the following occupations:

  • Accountant (General) – 221111
  • External Auditor – 221213
  • Management Accountant – 221112
  • Taxation Accountant – 221113
  • Finance Manager – 132211
  • Corporate Treasurer – 221212

*Numbers above refer to the ANZSCO classification

English language requirements remain the same with a minimum of 7 in each component of the IELTS Academic Test.

Applicants seeking a Positive Skills Assessment from CPA, ICAA or IPA should ensure they meet the new requirements.  This also applies to applicants who have been advised by the assessing authority that they require further study in order to obtain a positive outcome.

How do I find out more?

Call our team on 02 8205 7555 for an appointment to discuss your situation and visa eligibility.


Please note this information is for general purposes only and we do not guarantee its accuracy.